Watch The Prism Prize Top 10 Canadian Music Videos


A 120-person Prism Prize jury has deliberated and determined what it considers to be the Top Ten Best Canadian Music Videos of 2014. After hundreds of videos were analyzed, those with the most impressive originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution were plucked from the bunch.

From this short list, the jury will determine which director put forth the strongest video and give him a $5,000 grand prize during an awards presentation on March 29 at TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. For the first time, the awards presentation will be open to the public and give attendees the chance to watch all videos in contention right before a winner is named.

In addition to the grand prize, an Audience Choice Award and Special Achievement Award will be handed out. Meanwhile, the Arthur Lipsett Award will celebrate “innovative and unique approaches to music video art.”

Fans can vote for their favourite videos here.

Here are the nominees:

The New Pornographers – “Dancehall Domine” (Directors: Scott Cudmore and Michael LeBlanc)

PUP – “Guilt Trip” (Directors: Chandler Levack and Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)

Fur Trade – “Same Temptation” (Director: Kheaven Lewandowski)

Rich Aucoin – “Yelling in Sleep” (Director: Joel Mackenzie)

Ryan Hemsworth – “Snow in Newark” (Director: Martin C. Pariseau)

Kandle – “Not Up to Me” (Director: Natalie Rae Robison)

Kevin Drew – “You in Your Were” (Director: Samir Rehem)

Odonis Odonis – “Order in the Court” (Director: Lee Stringle)

Chad VanGaalen – “Monster” (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

Timber Timbre – “Beat the Drum Slowly” (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

Please be sure to follow us on Twitter @riffyou and at Home