Ron Hawkins Releasing “Contemplative” New Album


Ron Hawkins of Canadian indie rock pioneers, The Lowest of the Low, will release Garden Songs on February 3 through Pheromone Recordings.

Recorded live off the floor at Revolution Recordings in Toronto with his band The Do Good Assassins, the album focuses on some of Hawkins’ previous work.

“Garden Songs…is partially the result of a self-imposed challenge to record and mix a full album of [Hawkins’] more contemplative repertoire all in one hot week of activity,” read a press release.

Ahead of the album’s release, Hawkins and his band shot a video for “Kingdom of the Sun” at Toronto’s Don Jail. You can watch that here:

Garden Songs Tracklisting:

1. “Peace and Quiet”
2. “Kingdom of the Sun”
3. “South Ontario”
4. “Small Victories”
5. “D.F.W.”
6. “Garden Song”
7. “Saskia Begins”
9.“Waitin’ on Something That’s Already Here”
10. “Rome”

Tour Dates:

02/05-07 Toronto, ON – The Drake Underground
02/12 Waterloo, ON – The Starlight
02/13 London, ON – Call The Office
02/14 Sarnia, ON – Paddy Flaherty’s
02/27 Kingston, ON – The Grand Theatre
03/07 Hamilton, ON – This Ain’t Hollywood
03/13 Buffalo, NY – The Tralf

Please be sure to follow us on Twitter @riffyou and at Home