The Tea Party Releasing New Music After 10 Year Absence


After a series of reunion dates in 2011, well-respected Canadian rock trio, The Tea Party, have announced that they will release the-tea-party-2014-1their first piece of new music since 2004’s Seven Circles.

A new single, “Water’s On Fire,” will be released on June 24 through Anthem/Universal Music Canada. The forthcoming album – which will follow this autumn – was recorded at Toronto’s Revolution studios and produced by the band’s frontman, Jeff Martin. It is currently being mixed by three-time Grammy Award winner David Bottrill (Peter Gabriel, Muse, Tool).

We weren’t compelled to do this,” reflects Martin. “We challenged ourselves to make something together and believe this stands with any statement The Tea Party has made.”

After forming in 1990, The Tea Party – Stuart Chatwood, Jeff Burrows, and Martin – went on to release seven studio albums, selling two million copies worldwide. In case you’ve forgotten about their awesomeness, you can watch the video for “Fire in the Head” below:

-Adam Grant

Please be sure to follow us on Twitter @riffyou and at Home