Cancer Bats Releasing “Searching for Zero” in March


Beloved Toronto punk-metal-hardcore quartet, Cancer Bats, have joined New Damage Records and will be releasing their fifth cancer-bats-smallfull-length album, Searching for Zero on March 10, 2015.

The 10-track album was produced by Ross Robinson (Slipknot, The Cure, Glassjaw) and is available to pre-order now on iTunes. Those who choose to commit their dollars now will receive a download of the Searching for Zero’s lead single, “Arsenic in the Year of the Snake.” (View the lyrics video below.)

New Damage Records explains that the album “record incorporates the crude hardcore punk of their 2006 debut, Birthing The Giant and more metal leanings of 2008’s Hail Destroyer, while pushing the heavy hybrid sounds of 2010’s Mayors Bears Scraps and Bones and 2012’s darker Dead Set On Living to a new plateau.”

“We were coming out of what was a really heavy year for all of us, with a lot of challenges, non-stop touring and the deaths of people really close to the band,” says frontman Liam Cormier of the album. “With all of these things we’ve had to deal with this past year, we were all at the point of saying ‘no more bullshit,’ we’ve dealt with everything, nothing is standing in our way.

He continues: “We’ve found our absolute zero, where there can no longer be a negative, and from that point, everything moving forward can only be positive” And that positivity – that willingness to change what you can and let go of the rest – is the source of resolution. “There are real reasons we do this. We love being in this band, and we love the people that we’re lucky enough to share this with.”

Searching for Zero Tracklisting:
1. “Satellites”
2. “True Zero”
3. “Arsenic In The Year Of The Snake”
4. “Beelzebub”
5. “Devil’s Blood”
6. “Cursed With A Conscience”
7. “All Hail”
8. “Buds”
9. “Dusted”
10. “No More Bullshit”
11. “Rust And Bone” ** (iTunes Exclusive Track)

Please be sure to follow us on Twitter @riffyou and at