CMW 2014: Walk Off the Earth Win Big at CMRA’s


At the Phoenix Concert Theatre in Toronto, ON, last night, Walk Off the Earth emerged as the big winners of the 17th annual Canadian Radio Walk-Off-The-Earth-1-smallMusic Awards.

The Burlington, ON-based collective took home four awards, including Best New Group or Solo Artist (in two categories: Hot AC & CHR), Song of the Year, as well as Fan’s Choice.

Meanwhile, Tegan and Sara won for Best New Group or Solo Artist (Mainstream AC) for “I Was a Fool”; Head of the Herd took home the trophy for Best New Group or Solo Artist (Rock) for “By this Time Tomorrow”; and Serena Ryder received the prize of Sennheiser Chart Topper.

The International Single of the Year went to Avicii for “Wake Me Up.”

As part of Canadian Music Week, the Canadian Radio Music Awards celebrate “both national and international artists who have gained significant traction on Canadian radio over the past year.”

Additional nominees included the likes of July Talk, Mounties, Metric, Robin Thicke, Justin Timberlake, and Lumineers.

Please be sure to follow us on Twitter @riffyou and at Home